Lodève - Salagou - Hérault - Languedoc

Lodève, having a history dating back to the 4th century and today a meeting place for artists and cultural gatherings is hidden in last hills opening up to the Mediterranean lowlands.

The department Hérault with its authentical French way of life is part of the Languedoc region and one of the most attractive departments of France. The department is very geographically diverse, with beaches in the south, the Cévennes mountains in the north, and agricultural land in between. The region offers an enormous diversity of landscapes, reliefs and cultural as well as natural riches.

The Languedoc-Roussillon shows many traces of a rich and moving history. Here you find the remnants of the Roman Empire, the Cathars and the fortified villages of the Knight Templars.

Uphill from Lodève, at the 'Plateau du Larzac' the Buddhist retreat centre  'Lerab Ling', hosts seminars throughout the year. From april to november the Temple is open to visitors on fixed days.

Le Languedoc-Roussillon is since antiquity the worlds oldest vineyard,  covering the lowlands, slopes and even mountain tops. The Languedoc wine with its typical color varies in quality from common table wine to famous "appellations". Taste them together with the local "Pelardon" goat cheese or try them at the Roquefort caves on one of your day trips.

In less than 15 minutes you'll find one of the most beautiful lakes in the south of France, the "Lac du Salagou" where you can enjoy the contrast of its red colored rocky shores diving into the deep blue water. The lake measures almost 2000 acres and it is a real paradise for water sport lovers. Outside the hot summer season the lake and its surroundings are an ideal location for mountain biking, horse riding, fishing, bird watching, or just for having a stroll.

The well known seaside towns of Sète, Cap d'Agde et Valras are at about a 45 minutes drive. The old university town Montpellier, where medieval and contemporary architecture show the perfect match, is within a half hour reach. And the worlds highest bridge, the Viaduc of Millau is at a 45 minutes distance by car.

Lodève - Salagou - l'Hérault - l'Occitanie

Lodève, cité historique et culturelle, ville riche en métiers d'art, est située au coeur du Languedoc, dans la vallée de l'Hérault, entre les grands causses et la Méditerranée au milieu d'un paysage vierge.

L'Hérault fait partie de la région Occitanie (ancien Languedoc-Roussillon) et est marqué par la diversité de sa géologie et de ses paysages. Ceux-ci s'étagent des contreforts sud du Massif central, jusqu'à la mer Méditerranée, en passant par les moyennes montagnes, les zones de garrigues et la basse plaine du Languedoc viticole. L'Hérault est baigné par un climat méditerranéen. Le département abrite de nombreux espaces naturels préservés dont certains d’entre eux bénéficient d’une valorisation en Grands Sites.

La région préserve aussi beaucoup de trésors historiques, des traces d'un passé riche et turbulent. On y retrouve encore plein de vestiges des Romains, des Cathares et des Templiers. 

Sur le plateau du Larzac est situé un important centre bouddhiste Tibétain, Lérab Ling, où pendant toute l'année de nombreuses retraites ont lieu. D'avril en novembre, il est possible de visiter le temple.
 
L'Hérault est aujourd'hui le deuxième département viticole français et un des plus anciens. Le département dispose à la fois d'un climat favorable, d'une excellente exposition, d'une grande diversité de sols et d'une vaste gamme de cépages : tous les atouts sont réunis pour produire des vins généreux, parfois robustes, avec une large palette aromatique. Désormais ces vins rivalisent avec les plus grands crus français.

À moins de 15 minutes le Le Lac du Salagou offre une extraordinaire palette de couleurs, dans une vaste étendue d’eau au milieu de collines de roches rouges qui font un saisissant contraste avec le bleu intense de l'eau. Le lac a une surface de  750 hectares sur laquelle les amoureux de sports nautiques peuvent s'en donner à coeur joie. Toute saison, cet endroit se montre un vrai paradis pour randonneurs, vététistes, cavaliers, pêcheurs et passionnés d'ornithologie.

A moins de 45 minutes on peut découvrir des centres balnéaires comme Sète, Cap d'Agde et Valras avec ses plages de sable; Montpellier, ville universitaire et capitale régionale, alliant modernisme et riche passé historique;  le Viaduc de Millau, le plus haut pont à haubans du monde.